Judicial Service Commissioners 2015

Date Published :2015-07-30 09:52:00

The Judicial Service Commission is established under Article 171 of the Constitution and consists of the following 11 members:

1. The Chief Justice, who shall be the chairperson of the Commission;

2. One Supreme Court judge elected by the judges of the Supreme Court;

3. One Court of Appeal judge elected by the judges of the Court of Appeal;

4. One High Court judge and one magistrate, one a woman and one a man, elected by the members of the association of judges and magistrates;

5. The Attorney-General;

6. Two advocates, one a woman and one a man, each of whom has at least fifteen years’ experience, elected by the members of the statutory body responsible for the professional regulation of advocates;

7. One person nominated by the Public Service Commission; and

8. One woman and one man to represent the public, not being lawyers, appointed by the President with the approval of the National Assembly.

The Chief Registrar of the Judiciary is the Secretary to the Commission.

1.Hon. Justice David Maraga, Chief Justice / President of the Supreme Court
2.Hon. Justice Mohamed Warsame, Commissioner/ Judge Court of Appeal [ See Profile ]
3.Hon. Justice Aggrey Muchelule, Commissioner/Judge of the High Court of Kenya [ See Profile ]
4.Hon. Prof Tom Ojienda, Commissioner/Senior Counsel [ See Profile ]
5.Hon. Prof. Githu Muigai, Commissioner/ Attorney General of the Republic of Kenya [ See Profile ]
6.Hon. Emily Ominde, Commissioner/ Chief Magistrate, [ See Profile ]
7.Hon. Mercy Deche, Commissioner  [See Profile]
8.Hon. Prof. Margaret Kobia, PhD, Commissioner [ See Profile ]
9.Hon. Kipng'etich arap Korir Bett [ See Profile ]


Secretary to the Judicial Service Commission

Anne Atieno Amadi - Chief Registrar of the Judiciary [ See Profile ]


Copyright © 2015: The Judicial Service Commission, Republic of Kenya. All Rights Reserved